Scholarships and Awards > BHIVA Scholarships >

BMS Exchange Scholarships in collaboration with BHIVA and SAHIVCS

Bristol-Myers Squibb in collaboration with the British HIV Association (BHIVA) and the South African HIV Clinicians Society (SAHIVCS) set up an exchange scholarship for UK-based Specialist Registrars (SpRs), Specialty Registrars (StRs) and non-medical healthcare professionals (e.g. specialist pharmacists, occupational therapists, dieticians, physiotherapists and nurses) who are working in the field of HIV medicine and who are also BHIVA members. The exchange scholarship enabled winning applicants to travel to Botswana to take part in a placement at an HIV unit for up to 2 weeks. The programme provided a unique opportunity to increase understanding of the treatment and management of HIV in the developing world and for scholars to disseminate this information and experience when they returned to the UK.

In exchange, a scholar from Botswana travelled to the UK to take part in a placement at an HIV centre or hospital. Winning UK applicants were responsible for organising the placement of the overseas exchange scholar at their hospital and for organising suitable accommodation during their stay. As such, the applications were authorised by their Clinical Director, Head of Service or Employer.

Please note that airfares, local travel and accommodation expenses were paid for by the scholarship fund, for both UK and scholars from Botswana. In addition, the scholarship covered attendance at the British HIV Association Autumn Conference in London, UK on 9-10 October 2014.

This exchange programme scholarship is funded by Bristol-Myers Squibb Pharmaceuticals Ltd (BMS).  

2014 BHIVA winning scholars

Mr Asim Ali, Guy's and St Thomas' Hospital, London

Dr Katrina Stegmann, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London

Dr Elizabeth Williams, Homerton University Hospital, London

2014 SAHIVCS winning scholars

Dr Antoinette Boima, Selebi Phikwe Government Hospital

Ms Itireleng Mokhathi, Associated Fund Administrators, Gaborone

Dr Tommy Palai, Ministry of Health, Gaborone

2014 evaluation reports

Click here to read the 2014 evaluation reports


2013 BHIVA winning scholars

Dr Padmasayee Papineni, Northwick Park Hospital, London

Dr Gurmit Kaur Jagjit Singh, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London

Miss Dolapo Awoyemi, Kingston Hospital Foundation Trust, London

2013 SAHIVCS winning scholars

Dr Abhilash Sathyamoorthi, Botswana-Baylor Children's Clinical Centre of Excellence (COE)

Dr Lesego Kuate, Princess Marina Hospital, Gaborone

Ms Tuelo Ramaolo, Associated Fund Administrators, Gaborone


2012 BHIVA winning scholars

Dr Mitesh Desai, St Thomas' Hospital, London

Dr Amandip Sahota, Leicester Royal Infirmary

2012 SAHIVCS winning scholars

Dr Virginia Basadibotlhe Letsatsi-Modise, Princess Marina Hospital, Gaborone, Botswana

Dr Tafireyi Marukutira, Botswana-Baylor Children’s Clinical Centre of Excellence, Gaborone, Botswana