Home > About BHIVA >


Constitution of the Association

The Constitution of the Association was last updated on 25 November 2022.
Click here to download the document.


Each BHIVA policy is reviewed on an annual basis by the relevant committee, which make any recommendations for revisions and then submitted to the BHIVA trustees for approval. New policies are added as required.
Click here for more information.


Professor Yvonne Gilleece - Chair
Professor Yvonne Gilleece is a Consultant in HIV & Sexual Health at Brighton & Sussex University Hospitals NHS Trust and an Honorary Clinical Reader at Brighton & Sussex Medical School. She has a special interest in HIV and Women, is Chair of SWIFT and Chair of the BHIVA guidelines on the management of HIV in pregnancy and the post partum period. She teaches on the BHIVA inpatients and Dip HIV courses and has contributed as an author to additional BHIVA guidelines (FSRH 2019) . She was Vice Chair of the BHIVA Guidelines Subcommittee 2017-2019 and a member of the BIVA Hepatitis and Conference Subcommittees. She is a member of the steering group of WAVE ( part of EACS). She was re-elected as a BHIVA trustee to serve on the Executive Committee from 2019–2022 and was also elected as Honorary Secretary for a three-year term to 2022. Professor Gilleece was elected as BHIVA Chair from January 2023 to the BHIVA Annual General Meeting in November 2025.

Dr Nicola Mackie - Vice Chair
Dr Nicola Mackie is a Consultant Physician and Head of Speciality for HIV at Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust. Her research was in the field of HIV-1 drug resistance and she runs the weekly Virtual Clinic. She is also the Clinical Lead for the HIV Women's Service at Imperial. She is involved with writing national guidelines, examining for dipHIV and teaching for BASHH and EACS. Dr Mackie served as a trustee member of the BHIVA Executive Committee from 2016–2019 and was re-elected in 2019 for a further three-year term. She was elected in 2020 as chair of the Conferences Subcommittee for a three-year term.

Dr Tristan Barber - Honorary Secretary
Dr Tristan Barber is an HIV and Sexual Health Consultant at the Ian Charleson Day Centre, Royal Free Hospital, and Honorary Associate Professor at the Institute for Global Health at UCL. He has a research background in HIV-related neurocognitive impairment and phase 3 clinical trials. He has set up and is clinical lead for a dedicated frailty service for ageing patients with HIV infection (The SAGE Clinic). Dr Barber has been active within BHIVA for many years, including conferences, CROI feedbacks and the general medicine course. He is the BASHH representative on the HIV CRG. Dr Barber was elected in 2020 as Chair of the Education and Scientific Subcommittee for a three-year term and is a previous Chair of the International Partnerships Working Group (2016-20). He is committed to the work of BHIVA, supporting its teams and trainees in the UK, as well as the wider HIV community, patients and advocates, alongside promoting links overseas. He was elected in 2019 to serve as a BHIVA trustee for a three-year term. Dr Barber was elected to serve as Honorary Secretary from February 2023 to the AGM in 2025.

Dr Iain Reeves - Honorary Treasurer
Dr Iain Reeves has been a consultant in London for over 10 years and is lead clinician for HIV at the Homerton Hospital. He is also lead for the NE London and Essex HIV Clinical Network and an elected trustee of BHIVA. He has special interests in the sexual health of MSM and in mental health and is a principal investigator on a number of HIV and sexual health studies. Dr Reeves was elected in 2019 as Chair of the BHIVA Conferences Subcommittee for a three-year term, is part of the BHIVA Treatment Guidelines Writing Group and led on three sections of the recent BHIVA clinical standards. He was re-elected as a BHIVA trustee to serve on the Executive Committee from 2018–2021. Dr Reeves was elected as Honorary Treasurer to serve from 2020 to 2023.