Home > About BHIVA > Committees >

Guidelines Subcommittee


The general purpose of the Guidelines Subcommittee is to set standards of good clinical practice on various aspects of the treatment and care of people living with HIV. Guidelines should be updated at appropriate time intervals to reflect the latest findings and are subject to scrutiny by consultative process. The terms of reference of the subcommittee are determined by the BHIVA Executive Committee.

For more information or to view individual guidelines please click here.


Membership comprises a chair, vice chair, ordinary members, a community representative, an HIV Trainees Club representative and appointed members. The chair is appointed by the BHIVA Executive Committee and ordinary members are selected from the membership of the BHIVA Executive Committee. The appointed members are co-opted from the BHIVA membership and are selected to ensure the subcommittee has the appropriate level of expertise and representation to fulfil its duties and responsibilities.

Writing Groups

The BHIVA guidelines subcommittee is able to delegate specific functions and activities to appointed writing groups. They include for each guideline a writing committee who are responsible for drafting individual clinical guidelines. The chair of each writing group is appointed by the BHIVA Guidelines Subcommittee.

Terms of Reference

Click here to download the Terms of Reference.

Committee Members


  • Dr Nadi Gupta, Rotherham Hospital

Vice Chair

  • Dr Clare van Halsema, North Manchester General Hospital/Liverpool School of Tropical Medicine


  • Dr Angela Bailey, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, London

  • Dr Tristan Barber, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

  • Dr David Chadwick, James Cook University Hospital, Middlesbrough

  • Dr Duncan Churchill, Royal Sussex County Hospital, Brighton

  • Dr Yvonne Gilleece, Royal Sussex County Hospital, Brighton

  • Ms Alison Grant, Guy's & St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust, London

  • Prof Saye Khoo, University of Liverpool

  • Dr Sarah Parry, Barts Health NHS Trust, London

  • Dr Anton Pozniak, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London

  • Dr Iain Reeves, Homerton University Hospital, London

  • Dr Huda Taha, Coventry and Warwickshire Partnership NHS Trust

  • Dr John Thornhill, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, London

  • Dr Laura Waters, Mortimer Market Centre, London

  • Prof Alan Winston, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, London

UK-CAB representative

  • Ms Mel Rattue

HIV Trainees Club representative

  • Dr Alexandra Maxwell, Sandyford Central and Brownlee Centre, Glasgow

Guidelines Subcommittee Workspace

Click here to access the Guidelines Subcommittee Workspace.