Home > About BHIVA > Committees >

Education and Scientific Subcommittee


  • The promotion and improvement of education and training of healthcare professionals working in the field of HIV medicine with reference to the association’s aims and in liaison with other agencies and institutions
  • Providing advice on postgraduate and continuing education
  • To take an advisory role for the scientific programme of and be responsible for the submitted abstract review for BHIVA’s conferences and symposia

The subcommittee is also responsible for the BHIVA research awards.

The terms of reference of the subcommittee are determined by the BHIVA executive committee.


Membership comprises a chair, vice chair, ordinary members, a community representative, chair of the BHIVA conference subcommittee, and appointed members. The chair is appointed by the BHIVA executive committee and ordinary members are selected from the membership of the BHIVA executive committee. The appointed members are co-opted from the BHIVA membership and are selected to ensure the subcommittee has the appropriate level of expertise and representation to fulfill its duties and responsibilities.

Working Groups

The subcommittee is able to delegate specific functions and activities to appointed working groups. Click here for more information on the E-Learning Working Group.

In addition, the International Partnerships Working Group was set up in 2012 to promote BHIVA as a national organisation with an international reach, promote good clinical practice in the management and treatment of HIV and co-infections on a global level and to foster links with national and international organisations to influence policies in national/international HIV care and management. Click here for more information on International Partnerships.

Terms of Reference

Click here to download the Terms of Reference.

Committee Members


  • Dr Tristan Barber, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

Vice Chair

  • Dr Brendan Payne, The Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust


  • Miss Funke Adeniji, Barts Health NHS Trust, London

  • Dr Nadia Ahmed, Central and North West London NHS Foundation Trust

  • Dr David Chadwick, South Tees Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • Dr Subathira Dakshina, Barts Health NHS Trust, London

  • Professor Sarah Fidler, Imperial College London

  • Dr Douglas Fink, University College London Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • Dr Ashini Fox, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

  • Dr Julie Fox, Guy's & St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust, London

  • Dr Lewis Haddow, Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust, London

  • Dr Nicola Mackie, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, London

  • Dr Rebecca Metcalfe, NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde

  • Professor Mark Nelson, Chelsea and Westminster NHS Foundation Trust, London/Imperial College London

  • Dr Michael Rayment, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, London

  • Dr Karen Rogstad, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

  • Professor Caroline Sabin, University College London

  • Dr Amanda Samarawickrama, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, London

  • Professor Maryam Shahmanesh, University College London

  • Dr Jonathan Underwood, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board

  • Dr Clare van Halsema, North Manchester General Hospital

  • Professor Alan Winston, Imperial College London

HIV Trainee Association representative

  • Dr Johanna Denman, University Hospitals Birmingham NHS Foundation Trust

NHIVNA representative

  • Dr Hilary Piercy, Sheffield Hallam University

UK-CAB representative

  • Mr Roy Trevelion

BHIVA Research Awards Judging Panel

Members of the subcommittee plus:

  • Professor Brian Angus, University of Oxford

  • Professor John Frater, University of Oxford

  • Professor Saye Khoo, University of Liverpool

Click here
to see Members of the E-Learning Working Group

Education and Scientific Subcommittee Workspace

Click here to access the Education and Scientific Subcommittee Workspace