Scholarships and Awards > BHIVA Scholarships >

BHIVA / AbbVie / SSAT (BASS) Young Physician's Exchange Scholarships 2015

AbbVie in collaboration with the British HIV Association (BHIVA) and the St Stephen's AIDS Trust (SSAT) set up an exchange scholarship for UK-based Specialist Registrars (SpRs) and Specialty Registrars (StRs) who are training in the field of HIV medicine and who are also BHIVA members. The exchange scholarship enabled winning applicants to travel to a developing or transition country to take part in a placement at an HIV unit for up to 2 weeks. The programme provided a unique opportunity to increase understanding of the treatment and management of HIV in the developing world and for scholars to disseminate this information and experience when they returned to the UK.

In exchange, an overseas scholar from a developing or transition country travelled to the UK to take part in a placement at an HIV centre or hospital. Winning UK applicants were responsible for organising the placement of the overseas exchange scholar at their hospital and for organising suitable accommodation during their stay.

Please note that airfares, local travel and accommodation expenses were paid for by the scholarship fund, for both UK and overseas scholars. In addition, the scholarship covered attendance at the 21st British HIV Association (BHIVA) Spring Conference in London, UK on 21-24 April 2015.

AbbVie has provided funding for the BHIVA / AbbVie / SSAT (BASS) Young Physician’s Exchange Scholarship programme.

2015 UK winning scholars

Dr Megan Keira Crofts, Bristol Sexual Health Clinic

Dr Lakshmi Jain, Central and North West London Hospitals NHS Trust

2015 Overseas winning scholars

Dr Clifford George Banda, Malawi Liverpool Wellcome Trust Clinical Research Programme

Dr Tafara Moga, Elizabeth Glaser Pediatric AIDS Foundation, Zimbabwe

2015 evaluation reports

Click here to read the 2015 evaluation reports

2014 UK winning scholars

Dr Subathira Dakshina, The Royal London Hospital (Barts Health NHS Trust)

Dr Alex Salam, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London

2014 Overseas winning scholars

Dr John Matsekete, Biomedical Research and Training Institute, Harare, Zimbabwe

Dr Alexandra Teleka, Blantyre District Health Office, Blantyre, Malawi

2013 UK winning scholars

Dr Sally Jewsbury, North Manchester General Hospital

Dr Charlotte Hall, Castle Hill Hospital, Hull

2013 Overseas winning scholars

Dr Elizabeth Gatley, Zithulele Hospital, Mqanduli, South Africa

Dr Kiplangat Sigei, Kemri-Wellcome Trust Research Programme, Kilifi, Kenya