Scholarships and Awards > Conference Awards >

Prize winners at the BHIVA Autumn Conference, London 2012

There were a number of awards presented at the 2012 Autumn Conference; the BMS Exchange Scholarships in collaboration with BHIVA and SAHIVCS, the Gilead / BHIVA SpR Research Award, the Brian Gazzard Lectureship in HIV Medicine, and the Inaugural BHIVA Don Jeffries Research Award.

BMS Exchange Scholarships in collaboration with BHIVA and SAHIVCS

BMS supported 4 exchange scholarships and the scholarship programme included a placement for 2 BHIVA Members at Hospitals in Botswana for two weeks. In addition, the South African HIV Clinicians Society (SAHIVCS) selected two clinicians to come to the UK to take part in clinical attachments for two weeks in hospitals in London and Leicester.

Dr Navin Venkataratnam Dr Virginia Letsatsi-Modise Dr Tafireyi Marukutira

BMS representative Mr Brett Marett and Professor Jane Anderson present Dr Navin Venkataratnam (on behalf of Dr Amandip Sahota), Dr Virginia Letsatsi-Modise and Dr Tafireyi Marukutira with a certificate in recognition of their scholarship.

BHIVA winning scholars
Dr Mitesh Desai, St Thomas' Hospital, London
Dr Amandip Sahota, Leicester Royal Infirmary

SAHIVCS winning scholars
Dr Virginia Letsatsi-Modise, Princess Marina Hospital, Gaborone, Botswana
Dr Tafireyi Marukutira, Botswana-Baylor Children's Clinical Centre of Excellence, Gaborone

Gilead / BHIVA Specialist Registrar Research Award

Dr Olubanke Davies Dr Keith Aizen (Gilead Sciences) (left) and Professor Jane Anderson (centre) present Dr Olubanke Davies (right) with the BHIVA / Gilead SpR Research Award for 2012.

This prize has been set up to provide financial support for an HIV-related research project undertaken by a doctor at the Specialist Registrar (SpR) grade as part of professional training. Trainees in all medical specialties are required to undertake a period of research as an integral part of their higher professional training. However, funding such research is not always easy. Research proposals are invited for submission and reviewed by a BHIVA-appointed panel. The winning submission is awarded up to £2,000 to facilitate their high-quality research.

Dr Olubanke Davies, a specialist registrar at St Thomas' Hospital, London was presented the award in 2012 towards her research submission entitled 'The impact of rectal Gonorrhoea and Chlamydia on HIV infectiousness and onward transmission risk'.

Brian Gazzard Lectureship in HIV Medicine

Dr Paddy Mallon Professor Jane Anderson (right) presents Dr Paddy Mallon (left) with a commemorative trophy bowl and engraved pen in recognition of his Lectureship Award.

The lectureship was set up by BHIVA in honour of its Founding Chair, Professor Brian Gazzard, and is now in its 8th year. The lecture is selected to be presented from a short list of proposed topics and eminent speakers put forward for consideration by the BHIVA Conferences Subcommittee.

This annual prize was awarded to Dr Paddy Mallon, Consultant at Mater Misericordiae University Hospital in Dublin, for his presentation 'Does ageing really matter in HIV'.

The Inaugural BHIVA Don Jeffries Research Award

Dr John Frater Mrs Mary Jeffries (left) and Professor Jane Anderson (centre) present Dr John Frater (right) with a commemorative trophy in recognition of his Research Award.

In 2012, as a memorial to Professor Donald Jeffries OBE, the BHIVA Education and Scientific Subcommittee instituted an award for the top-scoring project in the BHIVA Research Awards applications. This award has been set up in perpetuity, to honour Professor Jeffries' unerring support of the British HIV Association.

This prize was awarded to Dr John Frater, Research Fellow/Honorary Consultant at Oxford University, for his research project 'Use of Immunocapture and Next Generation Sequencing to Identify the Cellular Origin of Rebound Viraemia following Therapy Cessation in Primary HIV Infection'.

Click here
for more information about the BHIVA Autumn Conference, London 2012.