Home > About BHIVA > Committees >

Audit and Standards Subcommittee


  • To promote good practice in clinical audit in HIV, AIDS and related fields
  • To develop and implement a rolling programme of national clinical audit in HIV and AIDS
  • To facilitate sharing of relevant information and expertise via the BHIVA Clinical Audit Faculty

The terms of reference of the subcommittee are determined by the BHIVA executive committee.


Membership comprises a chair, vice chair, ordinary members, a community representative, a junior doctor in a training grade, a representative from the British association of sexual health and HIV, representatives from regional audit groups and appointed members. The chair is appointed by the BHIVA executive committee and ordinary members are selected from the membership of the BHIVA executive committee. The appointed members are co-opted from the BHIVA membership and are selected to ensure the subcommittee has the appropriate level of expertise and wider representation to fulfill its duties and responsibilities.

For more information on the work of the committee or to view individual audit reports please click Audit Summary or National Audit Reports.

For administrative enquiries please contact Jacqueline English (BHIVA secretariat), 01462 530070.

Terms of Reference

Click here to download the Terms of Reference for the Audit and Standards Subcommittee.

Committee Members


  • Dr David Chadwick, James Cook University Hospital, Middlesbrough


  • Dr Ann Sullivan, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London


  • Dr David Asboe, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London

  • Dr Fiona Burns, University College London

  • Dr Duncan Churchill, Royal Sussex County Hospital, Brighton

  • Dr Andrew Freedman, Cardiff University School of Medicine

  • Dr Olufunso Olarinde, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield

  • Dr Ed Ong, Newcastle General Hospital

  • Prof Caroline Sabin, Royal Free and UCMS, London (Medical Statistician)

CHIVA representatives

  • Dr Katja Doerholt, St George's Hospital, London

  • Dr Velur Balasubramaniam, Derby Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

HIVPA representative

  • Ms Nadia Naous, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust, London

HIV Trainees Club representatives

  • Dr Ruth Byrne

  • Dr Aoife Molloy

  • Dr Sonia Raffe

  • Dr Sarah Ramsay

Public Health England representative

  • Dr Valerie Delpech

UK-CAB representative

  • Ms Rebecca Mbewe

Audit and Standards Subcommittee Workspace

Click here to access the Audit and Standards Subcommittee Workspace