You Are Here    Home   About BHIVA   Governance


Rules of the Association

The BHIVA Rules of the Association were last updated on 18 April 2013.
Click here to download the document

Bye-laws and Amendments

Under Rule 8(h), the BHIVA Executive Committee has developed bye-laws, which are intended to complement the Rules of the Association.
Click here to download the latest version dated 3 February 2015


Dr David Asboe - Chair
Dr David Asboe is Clinical Director and a Consultant in HIV Medicine and Sexual Health at Chelsea and Westminster Hospital. Dr Asboe studied medicine at Otago University Medical School, New Zealand and completed specialist training in Genitourinary Medicine at St Thomas' Hospital London. He is Research Lead for the Division of Women's, Children, HIV and GU Medicine, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London where he is a consultant in HIV Medicine and Sexual Health. He is an honorary Senior Lecturer, Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine. His research interests are antiretroviral resistance and the sexual health of HIV positive individuals.  He is the convenor of the Diploma HIV Medicine, and is a trustee on the executive committee of the British HIV Association.  Within BHIVA, Dr Asboe sits on the Conferences Subcommittee and on the Education and Scientific Subcommittee. He was elected as BHIVA Chair to serve from July 2013 to 2016.

Dr Adrian Palfreeman - Vice Chair
Dr Adrian Palfreeman is a Consultant Physician in GU medicine at University Hospitals of Leicester NHS Trust. Dr Palfreeman is on the BHIVA Conferences Subcommittee and is vice-chair of the Guidelines Subcommittee. He was elected as BHIVA Honorary Secretary in 2012 for a 3-year term. He was elected as BHIVA Vice Chair in 2013 for a 3-year term.

Dr Annemiek de Ruiter - Honorary Secretary
Dr Annemiek de Ruiter is a Consultant Physician in HIV/GUM at St Thomas' Hospital, London and has managed HIV-positive patients for over 20 years, specialising in the management of pregnant women with HIV. She has published extensively, formed local and national networks, collaborated widely, advised at a national level, lectured nationally and internationally and led the development of the BHIVA 2012 pregnancy guidelines. She sits on the Conferences and Guidelines BHIVA Subcommittees. She was elected as BHIVA Honorary Secretary in 2013 for a 2-year term.

Dr Duncan Churchill - Honorary Treasurer
Dr Duncan Churchill has been a Consultant in GU/HIV Medicine at the Royal Sussex County Hospital in Brighton since 1999, and Lead Consultant for over 7 years. He trained at Oxford, The Middlesex Hospital, and at St. Mary’s. He was a member of the Executive Committee of the British HIV Association from 1996-2004, and is Vice-Chair of the BHIVA treatment guidelines writing group. He was elected as BHIVA Honorary Treasurer in 2014 for a 3-year term.


View the Executive Committee

View External Scrutineers