You Are Here    Home   About BHIVA   Committees   Conferences Subcommittee

Conferences Subcommittee


The general purpose of the conference subcommittee is to organise the annual spring and autumn conferences and other events as determined by the BHIVA executive committee. The subcommittee is responsible for the organisation, scheduling and content of the conferences and where required liaison with other associations. The conferences provide an opportunity for presentation of original research, audit findings and guidelines, updates on clinical practice, treatment and new research and discussion of national policy and standards.

The terms of reference of the subcommittee are determined by the BHIVA executive committee.


Membership comprises a chair, vice chair, ordinary members, a community representative, chair of the BHIVA education and scientific subcommittee, and appointed members. The chair is appointed by the BHIVA executive committee and ordinary members are selected from the membership of the BHIVA executive committee. The appointed members are co-opted from the BHIVA membership and are selected to ensure the subcommittee has the appropriate level of expertise and representation to fulfill its duties and responsibilities.

For more information on the work of the conferences committee and view forthcoming and previous conferences please click here.

Working Groups

The BHIVA Hepatitis Expert Advisory Group brings together those directly involved in the care of HIV-infected patients co-infected with hepatitis B or C, as well as those who have a clinical or research interest in the epidemiology, natural history or basic science of viral hepatitis.

Terms of Reference

Click here to download the Terms of Reference.

Committee Members


  • Dr Laura Waters, Mortimer Market Centre, London


  • Dr Iain Reeves, Homerton University Hospital, London


  • Prof Brian Angus, University of Oxford

  • Dr Fiona Burns, University College London

  • Dr Mas Chaponda, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

  • Dr Duncan Churchill, Royal Sussex County Hospital, Brighton

  • Mr Paul Clift, King's College Hospital

  • Prof Brian Gazzard, Chelsea and Westminster Hospital, London

  • Dr Ranjababu Kulasegaram, St Thomas's Hospital, London

  • Prof Clifford Leen, Western General Hospital, Edinburgh

  • Dr Nicola Mackie, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

  • Prof Chloe Orkin, St Bartholomew's Hospital, London

  • Prof Caroline Sabin, Royal Free and UCMS, London (Medical Statistician)

  • Dr Steve Taylor, Birmingham's Heartlands Hospital

  • Dr Melinda Tenant-Flowers, King's College Hospital, London

  • Dr Ed Wilkins, North Manchester General Hospital

Conferences Subcommittee Workspace

Click here to access the Conferences Subcommittee Workspace